The wrong seat

THE WRONG SEAT: GRAVEYARD SAGA

Our eyes were already full of tears; it was one of those days where the sun was bright but drizzles of rain poured down on us. Sister was ready as always to ray down her beams of superstitious ideas on me when she saw the weather. She pushed near and began, this means that dad is going to heaven, she was so sure of what she said and that got me pissed. How do you know dad is going to heaven? Are you God? I always wondered why a woman of her age, with two masters degrees, one in Political studies and the other, Business law, had so much traditional fluid streaming within her brain which was killing her and she could barely see the damage it was doing her.

We watched as the priest preached and the incense was burnt through the silver thurible around papa’s coffin. They sprinkled holy water around the coffin and said a long psalm. I just could not bear the sorrow as the Choir leader raised the steal away song and the rest of the choir sang with all their hearts. They reminded me of the various contributions dad had made to the church and the guilt they would have felt if they did not sing with so much passion.

We walked to the graveyard and stood together, I, mom and sister. These strong men in black and white attire and gloves with swords by their sides came to carry dad’s coffin and stood by the dug pit as the priest said the last batch of prayers. Mom’s tears were so unbearable and I could not stand them. Dads burial had been postponed and I had taken three good months to prepare for this. I had told mom over and over again it was going to be alright but she refused to listen. She always said “Sandra, you don’t know how it feels to lose a husband”. But someday you’d have to face it, I told her all the time. I did not know why she had a problem. Her family members were very supportive after all, dad had secured the property with wills and other testimonials. She had everything so easy. I think the most difficult thing for he to contend with was the fact that dad was so healthy and strong when he suddenly died of the heart attack. Mom had always given him the correct food, the correct water and even the correct air as she always said.

Watching dad being driven into that man-hole was unbearable but I had to help mom as she almost rolled on the floor. People were amazed at her action because the family members were witnesses to her actions when she was a Judge. Once justice was to be served she did it with all her might and worse of them all was when she had to order the death sentence of the man who had raped a woman and her daughter and murdered the woman as well. It was a terrible act though but the whole family pleaded because the man was a family member’s good friend who has been under the influence of drugs for a long time. They said all they could but she disagreed and went ahead. From that day, people had thought death was nothing to her. I held her firmly as dad was coffin was covered with sand. We stood by watching in silence and tears, our hearts filled with immense sorrow and grief, so difficult to bear. My joy at least, was the fact that we had been able to finish with all the funeral activities and all went well.

I heard my cell phone ring, it was already quarter to six in the morning and I was nowhere near waking up that morning. I was having one of those dreams you wish were so real. I lazily rubbed my eyes and picked up. Hey, who’s this? “Can you not see my name on the phone? What, you are not awake; it was sis, oh yeah what’s up? Sorry sis, I’m so sorry, I said, with the early morning lazy tone.

One thought on “The wrong seat

Leave a Reply

